Have the New Zealand batsmen prepared themselves for the Australian challenge? View details

The Chappell-Hadlee series is all set to begin and the three-match ODI series will see a face-off between two world-class teams. In the post-pandemic time, all three ODIs will be played in Far North Queensland. The world is waiting for this series to begin, the series which was announced and contested just before COVID and forced the planet to go into lockdown. In 2020, the opening game of the series was played behind closed doors at the Sydney Cricket Ground before Team New Zealand ran out of fast-closing boundaries.

Australian and New Zealand cricket boards 2021-22

Both the Australian and New Zealand cricket boards tried hard to get the series running in both 2021 and 2022, but the effects of the pandemic were enormous and the series never took place due to problematic travel and logistics conditions, along with quarantine requirements. But now it is time to end that wait and go ahead with the much-awaited series. Team Australia announced their World T20I squad a few days back but for some strange reason are playing more ODIs than T20Is. Aaron Finch-led Aussies are the defending champions of the title and they will definitely try to test themselves before this marquee tournament.

Both Will try to beat each other

Looking at both the teams, it is quite safe to say that fans across the globe are gearing up for an exciting series where these two teams will try to outdo each other. New Zealand have named a full-strength team, similar to the one that toured the Caribbean island last month. On the other hand, the Aussies, who suffered a loss against Zimbabwe a few days back, will try to lift themselves up and turn this loss into something spectacular. The Australian cricket team will get domestic support and it can certainly be a big boost for any team.

There are 5 Most matches in the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy

The Chappell-Hadlee Trophy in its 18-year existence has produced a lot of classic matches between the Black Caps and Australia. Since it was first put on hold in 2004, there have been a total of nine full series where it has been contested, as well as a pair of one-sided matches in the 2011 and 2015 Cricket World Cups. Australia have won four of those series and New Zealand have won three – including the most recent one in 2017 – with the other two draws – the inaugural one in 2004 and one in 2009, resulting in Australia capturing the silverware. have done.

The two one-off matches were split one by one and a total of 32 matches were played, with 16 wins for Australia, 14 for the Black Caps, and two washouts – the series deciders in 2004 and 2009.

1 Black Caps win by one wicket in 2007 at Seddon Park in Hamilton

Two days after chasing a new record of 337 at Eden Park, the Black Caps topped that effort down the road at Seddon Park in Hamilton – but after digging themselves an almighty hole to get out.

First Matthew Hayden smashed 181 to lift Australia 346-5, setting the bar 10 runs higher than Auckland, then the Black Caps left Macmillan, Brendon McCullum, and Tails at a massive 41-4 and Stumbled by 116-5. Work.

Australia 346-5 (Matthew Hayden 181no, Shane Watson 68) lost to Black Caps 350-9 in 49.3 overs (Craig McMillan 117, Brendon McCullum 86no, Peter Fulton 51; Mitchell Johnson 3-81) by one wicket

2.  Black Caps win by one wicket in 2015 at Eden Park in Auckland

The match lasted barely more than 50 overs in the group stage of the 2015 World Cup, but it involved the most drama.

Batting first, Australia went 30–0 after just 14 balls and 80–1 to 22 after 13 overs to reach 106–9, before Brad Haddin bowled them all out for 151.

Chasing only 152, the Black Caps went 78-1 and 131-4 to 146-9, leaving number 11 Trent Boult to face two balls from Mitchell Starc, who had taken six wickets and almost unbeaten. Were.

Australia 151 all out in 32.2 overs (Brad Haddin 43; Trent Boult 5-27) lost to Black Caps 152-9 in 23.1 overs (Brendon McCullum 50, Kane Williamson 45no; Mitchell Starc 6-28) by one wicket

3.  Black Caps win by five wickets in 2007 at Eden Park in Auckland

Australia went into the 2007 series without several big names, including captain Ricky Ponting, on the eve of that year’s World Cup, and lost by 10 wickets in the opening match in Wellington.

In the second half of the match in Auckland, it looked like the visitors had rediscovered their groove, posting 336-4 and asking the Black Caps to chase down five runs more than their previous best effort – Christchurch In the same matchup two years ago.

Australia 336-4 (Michael Hussey 105, Brad Hodge 97no) lost to Black Caps 340-5 in 48.4 overs (Ross Taylor 117, Peter Fulton 76no, Craig McMillan 52; Shane Watson 3-58) by five wickets

4.  Black Caps win by six wickets in 2009 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground

The Melbourne Cricket Ground is Australia’s most iconic venue, which makes the Black Caps’ victory there even more special.

The match was the first in the 2009 five-match series and resulted in New Zealand’s eighth of 27 on-field wins, thanks to Grant Elliott’s unbeaten 61 in a relatively low-scoring case.

Australia 225-5 (Michael Clarke 98, Michael Hussey 75) lost to Black Caps 226-4 in 48.5 overs (Grant Elliott 61no) by six wickets

5.  Black Caps win by six runs in 2017 at Eden Park in Auckland in

The Black Caps scored 286, batting first, which was a bit disappointing considering how they were 210-5 with 12 overs to spare, but once they reduced Australia to 67-6, they were then reduced to 226-9. But put him on the verge of defeat. , that seemed like enough.

Marcus Stonis had other ideas and carried the strike, tackling every delivery in a 24-ball partnership with No. 11 Josh Hazlewood, who scored 54, pulling Australia to within seven runs of a surprise comeback.

The Black Caps 286-9 (Neil Broom 73no, Martin Guptill 61; Marcus Stoinis 3-49) beat Australia by six runs to 280 (Stoinis 146no; Mitchell Santner-3-44) in 46 overs.

Leave a Comment